Soviet Union (former Nation)



6006211 Map of Soviet Union (former Nation)

Scope note(s)

  • Former northern Eurasian empire that came into being after 1917 Revolution; largest country in the world when it existed, stretching from Baltic and Black seas to the Pacific Ocean; very diverse with over 100 distinct nationalities; most of population East Slavs; had authoritarian and highly centralized government dominated by Communist Party; political and economic changes began late 1980s and the USSR ceased to exist in 1991; in its final years it consisted of 15 republics, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belorussia (now Belarus), Estonia, Georgia, Kazakstan, Kirgiziya (now Kyrgyzstan), Latvia, Lithuania, Moldavia (now Moldova), Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Source note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

Soviet Union (former Nation)

BT Asia

Soviet Union (former Nation)

Equivalent terms

Soviet Union (former Nation)

  • UF U.S.S.R.
  • UF Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
  • UF Soviet Union

Associated terms

Soviet Union (former Nation)

2 Archival description results for Soviet Union (former Nation)

2 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

Pins series

Series consists of lapel pins, many used to designate membership in a club like the Little Octoberists or Young Pioneers. Many are duplicates.