Title and statement of responsibility area
The Memorial Church Port Ryerse Plate
General material designation
Other title information
Title statements of responsibility
Level of description
Edition statement of responsibility
Class of material specific details area
Statement of scale (cartographic)
Statement of projection (cartographic)
Statement of coordinates (cartographic)
Statement of scale (architectural)
Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)
Dates of creation area
Physical description area
1 plate: off-white ceramic with gold trim ; 2 cm x 23 cm x 23 cm
Publisher's series area
Title proper of publisher's series
Parallel titles of publisher's series
Other title information of publisher's series
Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series
Numbering within publisher's series
Note on publisher's series
Archival description area
Scope and content
One commemorative plate with a church illustration and the inscription"The Memorial Church Port Ryerse." The church was most likely an Anglican Memorial Church (United Empire Loyalist) established by Port Ryerse's founding father Samuel Ryerson (1752-1812) and his brother Joseph Ryerson (1761-1854).
"The quaint historic village of Port Ryerse is located west of Port Dover and sits high on a hill overlooking the north shore of Lake Erie. It is a small community imbued with history dating back to the early beginning of our illustrious province. Village founding father Loyalist Samuel Ryerse (1752-1812) arrived in 1795 at the mouth of Young's Creek in Woodhouse Township.
The Ryerse family had originally lived on a farm located in the heart of Manhattan, New York, on land later occupied by the World Trade Center.
Samuel’s brother, Joseph Ryerson (1761-1854), followed in 1798. Historians will be familiar with Joseph’s youngest son, the Rev. Adolphus Egerton Ryerson, acknowledged founder of Ontario's public school system and for whom Ryerson University is named.
Together, Samuel and Joseph established a thriving and vibrant port community. Unfortunately, all that was built was soon lost; the village was razed by the Americans during the War of 1812. "
Immediate source of acquisition
The plate was donated in 2012 by library staff member Kevin Manuel