Fonds F 572 - Ted Wood fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Ted Wood fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

F 572

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1983-1986 (Creation)
    Wood, Ted

Physical description area

Physical description

5.5 cm of textual records : 4 books

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Edward John Wood (a.k.a Ted Wood, a.k.a Jack Barnao) is an English-born, Canadian-based writer. Wood was born in Shoreham, Sussex, England. He lived in London until the outbreak of the Second World War, at which time he moved to Worcestershire. While in England, he served in the RAF Coastal Command. In 1954, he immigrated to Canada, working as a policeman in Toronto until 1957. That year, he joined MacLaren Advertising as a copywriter, eventually becoming a creative director. During his early years in Canada, he sold short stories to Canadian and American magazines and wrote television plays, including the musical comedy Mister Scrooge, produced in Toronto and on CBC television. In 1974, he published a collection of Chekhovian short stories, Somebody Else's Summer. In 1984, Wood published the Dead in the Water, which won the Scribner's Crime Novel Award. The book was published in the USA and Canada and was the first in a series of ten novels--including Murder on Ice (1984) and A Clean Kill (1995)--that were subsequently translated into numerous languages. Wood lives in Whitby, Ontario.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds contains 4 books authored by Ted Wood.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Open. Records are available for consultation without restriction.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres