Fonds RG 460 - Library Committee

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Library Committee

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Learning Resource Committee (antecedent committee)

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

RG 460

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1983 - 1996 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

10.5 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Custodial history

Scope and content

The Learning Resource Committee was formed in 1980. It had 3 representatives from each division at Ryerson (Applied Arts, Arts, Business, Community Services, Technology, and Continuing Education) - one student, one faculty member, and a representative for the Deans and Chairmen. The Committee also consisted of 1 librarian, 1 staff member of the Media Centre, and the Director of the Learning Resources Centre. The chairman would be appointed by the Vice President Academic and Vice President Administration for a two year term, and the secretary appointed by the LRC Director. The committee met 4 times per academic year. The Library Committee, formerly the Learning Resources Committee.
As of 1990 the composition of the committee had some changes. Each faculty/division was responsible for appointing a student (from a list provided by the RSU), a faculty member, and a dean or head of academic department. The staff members were appointed for 2 years, the students for one. The committee also consisted of the Chief Librarian, the co-ordinator of Library services, the Archivist, a librarian (chosen by all the librarians) and a support staff member from the library (chosen by the support staff). All of their terms were for 2 years. The Chair (a faculty member) would still be chosen by the Vice President Academic and the secretary was provided by the Chief Librarian's office. The President's of the RSU and CESAR acted as ex-officio, non-voting members. Meetings were increased to 1 per month during the academic year.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Records under review. Contact the Archives for information on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres